ashley corr

p   h   o   t   o   g   r   a   p   h   y

Home logo

Gallery 2  >  On Location (UK) > Lake District National Park, Cumbria 3

01.  Milky Way over Keswick Launch


02.  Duke Of Portland Boathouse, Ullswater


03.  Dawn Breaks over Buttermere


04.  August Misty Morning, Buttermere

17.  Acer, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


18.  The Grotto, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


19.  The Grotto, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


20.   The Grotto, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside

13.  Fleetwith Pike, from Buttermere


14.  The Sentinels, Buttermere


15.  Skelwith Bridge, near Elterwater


16.  Skelwith Bridge, near Elterwater

09.  The Edge Of Derwent Water, Keswick Launch


10.  Under The Stars, Castlerigg Stone Circle


11.  Summer Sunset, Keswick Launch


12.  Buttermere Reflections

05.  Monochrome Reflections, Buttermere


06.  The Sentinels, Buttemere


07.  Haystacks & Fleetwith Pike, Buttermere


08.  Buttermere, towards Red Pike

The Lake District, also known as The Lakes or Lakeland, is a mountainous region in North West England. A popular holiday destination, it is famous for its lakes, forests and mountains (or fells) and its associations with the early 19th-century writings of William Wordsworth and the other Lake Poets.


Historically split between Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire, the Lake District is now entirely in Cumbria. All the land in England higher than three thousand feet (914.4 m) above sea level lies within the National Park, including Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England. It also contains the deepest and longest lakes in England, Wastwater and Windermere.


The precise extent of the Lake District was not defined traditionally, but is slightly larger than that of the National Park, the total area of which is about 885 square miles (2,292 km2). The park extends just over 32 miles (51 km) from east to west and nearly 40 miles (64 km) from north to south,[8] with areas such as the Lake District Peninsulas to the south lying outside the National Park.


The principal radial valleys are (clockwise from the south) those of Dunnerdale, Eskdale, Wasdale, Ennerdale, Lorton Vale and the Buttermere valley, the Derwent Valley and Borrowdale, the valleys containing Ullswater and Haweswater, Longsleddale, the Kentmere valley and those radiating from the head of Windermere including Great Langdale. The valleys serve to break the mountains up into separate blocks which have been described by various authors in different ways. The most frequently encountered approach is that made popular by Alfred Wainwright who published seven separate area guides to the Lakeland Fells.


All images are © copyright of Ashley Corr Photography and are protected by law. No unauthorised copying, downloading or reproduction in any other format is allowed without written permission from the owner


21.  Acer, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


22.  The Grotto, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


23.  The Grotto, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside


24.   Acer, Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside