ashley corr

p   h   o   t   o   g   r   a   p   h   y

Home logo

Gallery 2 > On Location (UK) > Cotswolds 2

01.  The Dial House, Bourton On The Water


02.  Motor Museum, Bourton On The Water


03.  Broadway Tower


04.  Diston's Cottage, Snowshill

17.  Postcard Souvenirs, Broadway


18.  The Man Cave, Broadway


19.  Cotswold Stone, Snowshill


20.  Cotswold Tipple @ Off License, Broadway

13.  Lower Slaughter Museum


14.  Mill Lane, Lower Slaughter


15.  Lower Slaughter


16.  Kennel Lane, Broadway

09.  St Barnabas Church, Snowshill


10.  Olde Worlde, Snowshill


11.  Olde Worlde, Snowshill


12.  Guiting Power

05.  St. Barnabas Church, Snowshill


06.  Village Green, Guiting Power


07.  Lower Slaughter


08.  Ivy Clad, Lower Slaughter

The Cotswolds is an area in south central England containing the Cotswold Hills, a range of rolling hills which rise from the meadows of the upper Thames to an escarpment, known as the Cotswold Edge, above the Severn Valley and Evesham Vale. The area is defined by the bedrock of Jurassic limestone that creates a type of grassland habitat rare in the U.K. and that is quarried for the golden coloured Cotswold stone.The area, designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in 1966, is considered to have unique features derived from the local Cotswold stone; the predominantly rural landscape contains stone-built villages, historical towns, and stately homes and gardens.


There is evidence of Neolithic settlement from burial chambers on Cotswold Edge, and there are remains of Bronze and Iron Age forts. During the Middle Ages, the area became prosperous from the wool trade--indeed the name is usually attributed the meaning, sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides, and large "wool churches" were built. The area remains affluent. Typical Cotswold towns are Burford, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow-on-the-Wold. The Cotswold town of Chipping Campden is notable for being the home of the Arts and Crafts movement, founded by William Morris at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries.


The Cotswolds is roughly 25 miles (40 km) across and 90 miles (145 km) long, stretching south-west from just south of Stratford-upon-Avon to just south of Bath. It lies across the boundaries of several English counties; mainly Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, but also parts of Wiltshire, Somerset, Worcestershire, and Warwickshire. The hills give their name to the Cotswold local government district in Gloucestershire, which administers a large part of the area. The highest point of the region is Cleeve Hill at 1,083 ft (330 m), just to the north of Cheltenham.


All images are © copyright of Ashley Corr Photography and are protected by law. No unauthorised copying, downloading or reproduction in any other format is allowed without written permission from the owner


21.  No Introduction Needed


22.  View From Becky Hill, Lower Slaughter